Ralph E. Powe Research Excellence Award

Nomination Deadline: Friday, May 2, 2025, at 5pm.

Submit nominations here: 2025 Research Award Nomination

The Ralph E. Powe Research Excellence Award is reserved for outstanding, nationally recognized, competitive researchers. The nominees and ultimate winner should have a distinguished research career and a currently active research program. The award will celebrate the recipient's independent academic career, defined by outstanding research with substantive impacts to the discipline and a commitment to mentoring. The award recipient will receive a \$10,000 research grant, an honorarium of \$2,500 and a commemorative plaque.

Award Criteria:

To be eligible for the Ralph E. Powe Research Excellence Award, candidates, at the time of nomination, must be a general faculty member with a minimum of five years at Mississippi State University and holding a professorial rank (including Research Professors who may not be tenure-track faculty). These individuals should have earned their terminal degree no less than 12 years ago. Nominees must not have been found guilty or have any pending administrative, disciplinary, or criminal charge against them.

The Ralph E. Powe Research Excellence Awardee is selected based on the following review criteria:

- 1. Documentation of a sustained record of research and scholarship that reflects vision, collaboration, innovation, and leadership within the nominee's field.
- 2. Evidence of one or more original or transformational contributions with notable impact within their discipline as evaluated by peers/experts in the nominee's field.
- 3. Demonstrated commitment to mentorship of junior faculty and students.
- 4. Demonstrated commitment to the University's land-grant mission.
- 5. Meaningful and effective professional leadership, including leadership in professional societies.

Selection Committee

The selection committee will be formed by the Vice President for Research and Economic Development to include a diverse group of full professors representing MSU's various research disciplines. Committee members will include representatives from the offices of the Provost, Vice President for the Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine, and Vice President for Research and Economic Development. Committee members will also include at least one Associate Dean for Research, previous Ralph E. Powe award winner, and W. L. Giles Distinguished Professor.

Nomination Material:

- Nomination form (Qualtrics online form)
- Letter of nomination providing highlights of the nominee's accomplishments, with a focus on the research and/or creative achievements relevant to the nominee's field*
- A minimum of three additional letters of support or recommendation for the nominee. At least one letter <u>must</u> be from outside MSU*
- Abbreviated CV highlighting pertinent information (10-page limit). CVs are encouraged to include a summary section.

*Note: Letters of support/recommendation are heavily weighted in the selection process and should communicate the nominee's research contributions to a broad audience, based on the review criteria. The selection committee relies on these letters to gauge the impact and significance of the nominee's contributions within their field of scholarship beyond traditional metrics.

Note: This award will not be conferred on any individual whose conduct has been determined to be unethical by MSU offices/review processes, such as: Research Misconduct, Regulatory Non-Compliance, Human Resources Management, Internal Audit, or Civil Rights and Compliance.